Saturday , 24 February 2018
Breaking News

Pharmacists Alumni Donate Generating sets, Microscopes, to Faculty of Pharmacy, UNIBEN

B. Parm Class Set of 1987

2, Balogun Street, Ikeja, Lagos, Lagos State


Pharmacists Alumni Donate Generating sets, Microscopes, Weighing Balances to Faculty of Pharmacy, UNIBEN

Members of the 1987 Set of Pharmacy graduates from the University of Benin recently gathered together in Benin City, from all over the world, as part of Reunion activities to mark their Thirty Years of graduation. The climax of the activities was the donation of generating sets, weighing balances and ultramodern microscopes worth over four million naira to the Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Benin, Benin City. The event which held at the Conference Hall of the Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Benin, had in attendance, members of the academic community of the university, professors and lecturers from the Faculty of Pharmacy, representative of the Vice Chancellor, University of Benin, members of non academic staff, officials of the Pharmaceutical Association of Nigerian Students (PANS) University of Benin Chapter, led by their President Mr. Joshua Idemudia and several others.

Presenting the items to the Dean of Faculty of Pharmacy represented by the Deputy Dean, Dr. Tome Bafor, the Captain of the 1987 Pharmacy graduates, Pharm. Festus Iserhienrhien, a fellow of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN) and Managing Director of Aifama Pharmacy Ltd Abuja, said the items donated were to mark their 30th Post Graduation Reunion. He said the items which were worth four million naira, included modern microscopes with digital eye piece, state of the art weighing scales and balances as well as Diesel generators to provide electricity in the event of power failure. He challenged other set members to emulate their set in giving back to their Alma Mata, especially in this era of poor funding of our public universities by successive governments. He encouraged pharmacists and other graduates to visit their Alma Mata in order to appreciate the level of decay in those institutions of higher learning.

In his response, the Vice Chancellor of the University of Benin, Professor Faraday Osasere Orumwense  represented by the Dean of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Professor E.K.I Omogbai commended members of 1987 Set of Pharmacy Graduates for their kind gesture and initiative, which according to him is the first of such act in the history of the Faculty of Pharmacy. He challenged other graduates of the university to borrow a leaf from the 1987 Set, adding that the donated equipment will go a long way to aid knowledge acquisition, teaching and research in the Faculty. Receiving the items on behalf of the Dean of Pharmacy, Professor J. Akerele, the Deputy Dean of Pharmacy, Dr. Tome Bafor thanked members of the set for their donation, which she said was the first of its kind, and commended them for being proactive. According to her, “This is a unique and exciting experience. You have set the pace and done the Faculty proud. As a Faculty, we look forward to the contribution of others,” she said further. Also speaking, a lecturer in the Faculty, Professor Pat Erah, thanked the Pharmacists for their donation, which he said will boost research and teaching in the Faculty. He commended their efforts and also hoped others will emulate them.

Members of the 1987 Set present then took turns to eulogize their former lecturers, noting that they set them on the right pedestal to surmount life obstacles and make an impact in their chosen profession. Among members of the 1987 set present were Pharm. (Dr.) David Ehikhuemen, (Chairman of the Planning Committee for the Reunion), Pharm. (Sir) Patrick Ferife, (former Commissioner for Lands, Survey and Urban Development, Delta State), Dr. Kingsley C. Amibor, National Vice Chairman of Association of Hospital and Administrative Pharmacists of Nigeria (AHAPN) and Pharm Prisca Onwumere, a United States of America based Pharmacist. Others were Pharm. Ifeoma Ndobu, Fund Manager, Delta State Drug Revolving Fund (DRF) Asaba, Pharm. (Dr.) Okiemute Ebebi (also of Delta State DRF),and Pharm. Ikechukwu Ofulue, a Lagos based Managing Director and Consultant Pharmacist. Some members of the academia present included Professor Azuka C. Opara, a renowned Clinical Pharmacist, Dr. Arigbe Osula, United States Clinical Pharmacist, Professor Cyril Usifoh, (former Dean of the Faculty of Pharmacy), Professor Magnus Iwuagu and several others.

The Set members later retreated to the Precious Palm Royal Hotel, Benin City, for the Reunion proper.

Dr. Kingsley Chiedu Amibor

Member, Planning Committee 1987 B. Pharm Reunion Committee

/National Vice Chairman, Association of Hospital and Administrative Pharmacists of Nigeria (AHAPN)

Picture 1.

Picture of donated items

L-R Captain of 1987 B. Pharm Set, Pharm Festus Iserhienrhien making the presentation to the Faculty of Pharmacy, UNIBEN, while Pharm. Ike Ofulue looks on.

Picture 2

Members of 1987 graduates present at the Presentation Ceremony



L-R Pharm. Sir Ferife Patrick (former Commissioner for Lands, Survey and Urban Development Delta State), Dr. Okiemute Ebebi, (DRFAsaba), Dr. Kingsley C. Amibor (National Vice Chairman, AHAPN), Pharm. Festus Iserhienrhien (Set Captain), Pharm. (Dr.) Prisca Onwumere (US based), Dr. Dave Ehikhuemen, Pharm. Ifeoma Ndobu, Pharm. Ike Ofulue

Join Our BBM Channel; Swank Pharm on C002BF98F

About swankpharm

Check Also

HIV: ‘FG should stop depending on donors for drugs’

Share this on WhatsAppAs part of their effort to help those living with HIV in ...

Lagos Shuts 24 Illegal Pharmacies, Patent Medicine Stores

Share this on WhatsApp The Lagos State Government has shut down 24 illegal pharmacies and ...

Pharmacists council inducts 105 graduands of Igbinedion University

Share this on WhatsAppThe Pharmacists Council of Nigeria on Friday inducted 105 graduands of the ...